WGCV 37 Plenary February 2014 WGCV Vice-Chair Election Process Satish Srivastava, WGCV-Chair Canadian Space Agency





Slide: 1 CEOS WGCV -37 Plenary Meeting | ESRIN/ESA, Frascati, Italy | 17-20 February 2014





- CEOS WGCV is administered by a Chair and by a Vice-Chair
- Vice-Chair candidacy presentation to be made at WGCV-37.
- The candidate must be sponsored by a <u>CEOS member agency</u> and a support letter, written by the CEOS Principal or on his or her behalf, must support the candidate for the <u>a four-year mandate</u> (two years as Vice-chair followed by two years as Chair) as well as <u>guaranteeing secretarial support</u> throughout the two years of chairmanship.
- Vice-Chair Election to be held at WGCV-38





- The electors\* are (1 vote each):
  - The WGCV Chair
  - The WGCV Vice-Chair
  - Each of the WGCV Subgroups 1 vote per subgroup representing the consensus of that subgroup
  - Each participating delegation (representing the consensus within that delegation) who is a full member of CEOS.

\*Those WGCV electors not in a position to participate in the WGCV plenary can participate in the election either by mail or electronic mail sent to the WGCV Secretariat.





- Only CEOS members have the right to vote, not associates and observers to CEOS.
- The delegation participating in the WGCV, including agencies nominating vice-chair candidates, are to be represented at a minimum of 2 out of every 3 plenary meetings held over a 2-year period between elections.
  - Note: Virtual participation does not constitute participation in WGCV plenary for voting purpose.
- The list of participating delegations to the WGCV that are eligible to vote shall be published and distributed in advance of the plenary meeting during which the election shall occur.





- The election will be at the end of the WGCV–38 plenary meeting.
- The WGCV Secretariat is responsible for collecting the votes and preparing the results.
- The WGCV Chair announces the results of the vote immediately after the vote count.
- The election of Vice-Chair will be confirmed by CEOS at CEOS-28 Plenary (November 2014 at Tromso)
- Current Vice-Chair will then automatically become Chair





#### Nominations received (2):

- Prof Chuanrong LI has been nominated by the National Remote Sensing Center of China (NRSCC)
- Dr. Kurtis Thome has been nominated by NASA
- Call from the floor